PDFsharp & MigraDoc Foundation

PDFsharp - A .NET library for processing PDF & MigraDoc Foundation - Creating documents on the fly
It is currently Fri Dec 03, 2021 12:29 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please read this before posting on this forum: Forum Rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2021 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2021 11:32 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

I'm using PdfSharp for several years on 1 site with several subdomains.
One of the subdomains refuses to output good quality PDF's whilst the website is running on the same code as all the other subdomains and main domain where the PDF's are in good quality.

I don't get it how this one subdomain (which is coded like all the other subdomains ) can output this bad quality.

I've added original size file -> this is the HTML blob which is the same on every subdomain
Then I've added a good skin image, this is a screen taken from a PDF which is created from a good subdomain
Then I've added a bad skin image, taken from a PDF from that one bad subdomain

My question, what can influence the quality of the PDF ?
Playing with the document.CompressionLevel and/or JPEG compression levels has no effect because al the sub domains are running on the same code base.

My application is running in ASP.NET, C# back-end.
any ideas?

Thanks in advance


Attachments:
File comment: This is output from the bad subdomain in the PDF, unreadable
bad_skin.jpg
bad_skin.jpg [ 182.48 KiB | Viewed 257 times ]
File comment: this is rendered from the original html in a good subdomain, almost no quality loss
good_skin.jpg
good_skin.jpg [ 164.9 KiB | Viewed 257 times ]
File comment: this is a screen coming from the website itself, so this is still HTML so all is good quality
original_size.jpg
original_size.jpg [ 174.26 KiB | Viewed 257 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 6:49 am 
Offline
PDFsharp Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:15 am
Posts: 683
Location: CCAA
OK, so it is quiz time. No code showing in the question.

What do we know for sure? PDFsharp does not render HTML to PDF.

So most likely the problem is not with PDFsharp, but with some third-party code (which?).
Since it works on some computers, there must be a way to configure the behaviour. Consult the documentation of your third-party tool.

_________________
Best regards
Thomas
(Freelance Software Developer with several years of MigraDoc/PDFsharp experience)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 7:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2021 11:32 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

I didn't add any code because it has no purpose because some sites were running fine which means the code was OK.
Coincidence but yesterday evening we found the issue.
It was the identity of the application pool which was not set to a Network service.
Why this downgraded the quality of a PDF is still a mistory but changing this from ApplicationPoolIdentity to a Networkservice did the trick :-)

Image

Thanks for the following up.

Kind regards,
Pieter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Privacy Policy, Data Protection Declaration, Impressum
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group